Posted by: cochinblogger | April 8, 2010

Three Takes on Passion as a Work Imperative

I’m a strong believer in the importance of passion in work. I learned that if you end up doing what you’re not passionate about, the journey becomes hard. Very hard.

If you’re not passionate about your job, it’s necessary to switch.

Take 1 (Rakesh Sharma, the first Indian astronaut)

http://www.thehindu.com/mp/2010/04/03/stories/2010040352610600.htm

“Incidentally, Rakesh Sharma always wanted to be a pilot. “Since I was six years old, and a cousin in the Air Force took me around and showed me aeroplanes, their cockpits, etc. If you end up doing what you are passionate about, the journey is so easy,” he says.”

Take 2 (James Layfield, entrepreneur)

http://www.tehelka.com/story_main44.asp?filename=Bu130310give_me.asp

“Question: You have so many businesses, why start another one?

Answer: My passion is business, I’m a business geek! I love it, business gets me up in the morning and it keeps me awake at night. It gets me writing this to you on a Sunday afternoon. For me, work doesn’t feel like work: it’s fun. I just recalled how amazing it was when I opened my airport lounge in JFK, New York. It felt so good to stand there, knowing this was my lounge and that all of these happy customers were being looked after by my team.Question:

Question: What do you seek in budding entrepreneurs and promising managers in your company?

Answer: Passion, that’s the main thing – that fire in your belly. Only if you have it can you learn the skills. And I can’t teach you passion.”

Take 3 (Yousuf Karsh, photographer)

“Question: So, his work was his life?

Answer: Yes, his work was his life. I’m not saying that he didn’t enjoy a good glass of cognac. Or that he didn’t enjoy good food. But he was happiest in his studio.”

Source: Article in the Reader’s Digest (Indian ed.), March 2009, by Isabel Nanton

Powered by Zoundry Raven

Leave a Reply

Categories

