Posted by: cochinblogger | June 5, 2010

Men and Women Carry Coffee Cups Differently

A short paragraph from a book I’m reading now, The Boston Strangler by Gerold Frank, gave me pause for thought:

“In Patricia’s kitchen a coffee cup in its saucer had been found at one end of the table; opposite it, only a saucer. A man, taking his coffee into another room, is likely to take his cup only. Women, less careless, more conscious of moisture stains on furniture, will take both cup and saucer.”

I wonder how universal this is? Is there really a gender difference in how we carry coffee cups to another room? Now, I know that I, red-blooded male that I am, would not bother with the saucer.

My sons, hot and sweaty after playing outside, like to throw themselves on the bed to rest before washing up. This drives my wife crazy, as she fears the clean sheets will get soiled. She blasts them, even saying stuff like, “Can’t you think?!” It happens every time they go out to play, and each time my sons are puzzled by the outbursts. What’s the fuss about, I can read in their eyes? I too feel too much is being made of this, but I dare not say anything. πŸ™‚

After reading about the coffee cups, I’m left in no doubt: My boys are just being boys!

However, now that I’m aware, I will try and remember to carry the saucer from now on. πŸ™‚

Tailpiece: Here is a joke (from Bloke Jokes) that underscores the theme of this post well. It’s bawdy, so you can stop reading now if you like. Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

How does a bloke keep a woman screaming after climax?

He wipes his willy on the curtains!


Powered by Zoundry Raven

Leave a Reply

Categories

