Posted by: cochinblogger | November 11, 2010

Maternal Diplomacy

At one stage in my boyhood, while still in school, I became worried that I did not have any girlfriends. Perhaps that should read “a girlfriend.” 🙂

I thought maybe the culprit was my appearance. But I was not sure, as regular self-examination in the mirror proved inconclusive.

So I decided to ask someone to judge my appearance. But who?

I reasoned that a more reliable answer would come from a female. But I could not ask any female because I lacked a girlfriend (by the way, I’m sisterless). Talk about a vicious circle!

Finally, I decided the only person I could turn to was my mother. So one day I asked her if I was good looking. If my mother was surprised, she certainly did not show it.

She smiled, and said that she liked my side view.

Responses

  1. At least, she didn’t say “back view.”

    • Precisely. Which explains why I stuck in the word “Diplomacy” in the post title.

      As usual, you have hit the nail on the head. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

