Posted by: cochinblogger | March 5, 2011

The Story of the Hen That Laid Golden Eggs, with a Kiddie Twist

The other day I went over a moral science lesson with my 11-year-old son. It’s about a farmer who gets a hen that lays golden eggs as a boon, and then becomes greedy and slaughters the hen to get at the treasure trove of eggs that he imagines he’ll find inside the hen’s body.

The lesson had, among others, the following question at the end of the lesson: “What did the farmer find after killing the hen?”

My son had written down the answer the teacher had dictated in class: “After killing the hen, the farmer did not find any eggs inside the hen’s body.”

I asked my son the question.

He answered fluently, “After killing the hen, the farmer found the heart, the liver, the gizzard, and all the internal organs of the hen — but not a single egg.”

I put the book down and looked at him.

He met my eyes apprehensively.

I started laughing uncontrollably.

He too began laughing with me.

I asked him, “Son, what will you write in the exam?”

He said, “After killing the hen, the farmer did not find any eggs inside the hen’s body.”

I asked, “So why did you give me the other answer?”

He answered, “To make it funny.”

I began laughing again.

Leave a Reply

Categories

