Posted by: cochinblogger | April 13, 2011

The Owl That Reads Blogs

Owls read blogs; at least, the Jungle Owlet does. No, I’ve not taken leave of my senses. I have hard evidence. Hear me out, and I’m sure you’ll agree.

The day after I published the photo of the Jungle Owlet on my blog (see the preceding post, Salim Ali on Thattakad), I was walking toward my usual happy shooting grounds when I saw a familiar shape on a tree branch above the road. I dismissed it as the stump of a snapped branch, but as I approached closer, I saw the unmistakable blazing yellow eyes. It was kind enough to pose for a minute or two.

I was first disappointed by the branches in front of the bird in the photo, but I now see that they have a beauty all their own. Infinitely better than telephone wires, eh? And they frame the bird wonderfully well.

I was seeing this magnificent bird for only the second time, after a year — and on the day after I wrote about it in my blog!

There are only two possibilities: (1) Either we have an incredible coincidence or (2) jungle owlets enjoy Internet access and read blogs.

I, for one, am leaning toward the latter hypothesis. πŸ™‚

After all, they have the intense eyes of the compulsive reader.

And yet another explanation is Morphic Resonance.

Take your pick. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Categories

