Posted by: cochinblogger | April 26, 2012

Art on Wheels: The Duronto Express

I was stunned by this swiftly moving apparition when waiting for a bus at the KSRTC bus stand the other day. The railway line snakes outward just beyond the bus stand, and I was casually taking in the view when out of the blue appeared — this! I hastily yanked my camera out of the bag and took a few potshots.

Later, at home, I searched the Net for “Duronto” and turned up this:

Duronto Express

I’ve been traveling by trains all my life but did not know about the existence of Duronto trains. Even my father, a railway hobbyist of sorts, did not know about these special trains. And now I simply have to travel on one of these wheeled wonders.

Yet another item added to my stairway-to-heaven-long to-do list.

Leave a Reply

Categories

