Posted by: cochinblogger | February 7, 2013

An Evening with Leela Samson

I do not usually watch dance performances, but I’m glad I went to the Museum of Kerala Art & History on the evening of December 1, 2012, for their jubilee celebrations. Leela Samson’s dance troupe, Spanda, presented a dance ballet called Chakravyuha. Although I could not understand the storyline (I believe the theme is from the Mahabharata), the fluid grace and delicate movements of the dancers were captivating. I’d heard of the expression “poetry in motion,” but now I was seeing it with my own eyes. I sat there mesmerized, transfixed to my seat.

The ballet was preceded by a solo dance by Leela Samson herself. Now, Leela in her prime was one of the preeminent exponents of the classical dance form, Bharatanatyam, in the country. She’s about 65 years old today, but nobody who saw her that evening would have believed it. She is the daughter of Vice-Admiral (retd.) Benjamin Samson, a Bene-Israelite from Mumbai. Here is more about him and the Indian Jewish community: For These Jews, Mumbai Is The Chosen Land

Photos from the event follow.

And now came Leela’s dance troupe, Spanda, made up entirely of young dancers.

The dancers were ably supported by the musicians. The dude with the long hair, Sreejith, set the ballet to music.

Also see An Evening with Parvathy Baul

Leave a Reply

Categories

