Posted by: cochinblogger | March 24, 2013

Emu on the Menu

This was outside a local bar. I was amused by “Emu” and tried to figure out what they could’ve meant. Probably turkey. But the waiter insisted that what they served was emu and not turkey. I found it hard to believe, and left thinking that they must mean turkey.

Later, I searched the Net and learned some interesting facts about emus. Female emus compete for males and woo them, and it can get violent, with kickboxing duels between females vying for the same male. The male looks after the eggs while the female often looks for someone else to mate with.

Then I turned up this:

Thousands of emus to be culled but few takers for the meat

Goodness! I feel sorry for these majestic birds languishing in custody.

Is there a market for game meat in India? I doubt it. But this glut of emu meat in neighboring Tamil Nadu could explain its sudden availability in Kerala bars. But look at this:

http://emufarmkerala.com/articles.html

Yikes! An emu farm in Kerala! One lives and learns.

So, it was emu on the bar menu, after all. But I don’t think I can ever bring myself to eat an emu.

Leave a Reply

Categories

