Posted by: cochinblogger | January 15, 2014

The Moon Tonight

Picture 147_edited_4

I shot this wondrous sight from my terrace. After feasting on the silvery orb for some time, I found myself wondering if there was a dark side to the full moon. Hadn’t I read that the full moon is associated with madness and violent crime? When I went down, I searched the Net and turned up this paper authored by my countrymen:

Full Moon and Crime

And that reminded me of a newspaper report I read recently on a Cochin-based forensic scientist (The Scientific Sleuths):

Her experience in crime scene investigation and the statistics collected gives her insight into what she calls ‘seasons of crime.’ “This is the season for fires. They could be explosions, arson, illegal explosives manufacturing, or short circuits. But there are plenty of those this time of the year.” March and the hot summer months are the season for murder and suicide. Crimes are fewer during June and July. September-October see plenty of snatchings and thefts. “I don’t what the science is behind these occurrences. But this is what you will observe if you examine the data,” she says with a smile.

She didn’t mention the full moon.

Frankly, I’m skeptical about “human tidal waves” induced by the moon; it has such a pseudo-scientific, astrological ring to it. 🙂

Responses

  1. On the backside, the moon is not green cheese, but turquoise!
    http://www.theguardian.com/science/2014/jan/10/dark-side-moon-turquoise-astronomers


Leave a Reply

Categories

