Posted by: cochinblogger | January 21, 2014

Loss or Gain, It’s All the Same

Picture 867_cr

Written below “Hair Gain Clinic” is “Hair Loss Clinic” in Malayalam (I don’t read Malayalam; it was my father who spotted this). So, which is right? The closest analogy I can think of is “weight loss program,” from which “weight loss clinic” seems a natural leap. A weight loss clinic helps the patient lose weight. A hair gain clinic helps a patient gain hair. So it would appear that “hair loss clinic” is incorrect, but I’m not sure. Whoever wrote “hair loss clinic” would argue that the clinic treats hair loss. A weight gain clinic doesn’t convey the message of treating weight gain (at least to me), but “obesity clinic” does.

I don’t know what the moral of the story is, but the two diametrically opposite signs, one below the other, conveying the same message amused my father (and me) greatly.

Leave a Reply

Categories

