Posted by: cochinblogger | June 9, 2014

A Monsoon Conversation between Father and Son

Shoepics 195_edited

I was enjoying the breeze at the Ernakulam Boat Jetty on the evening of June 6. The monsoon was supposed to hit Kerala that day, and the inky clouds gathered over the bay swelled even as I watched, darkening both sky and earth. I clicked the above pic. A little later, while I was sipping coffee in the near-by India Coffee House, the downpour began.

I walked out into the rain, armed with my umbrella.A strong breeze played along the street, whipping the rain before it and slamming raindrops into my body. I walked on, and was thoroughly drenched by the time I got home.

The next morning I read in the newspaper that the monsoon had made landfall in Kerala the previous evening. I had witnessed its arrival in Cochin; no, more than that, I had registered its arrival on my bare skin. I slipped on the pair of jeans I’d worn the previous day. In the auto that ferries my sons to school, I asked my younger son, who was sitting next to me, to feel my jeans. “Wet,” he observed. I next took out my camera and showed them the above photo. They liked it. “The water you felt on my jeans just now came from these clouds you see in the pic,” I said. My younger son smiled at my flight of poetic fancy.

Monsoon scenes flashed past us as the auto raced toward the school. As we sped along, I clicked the pic below, which amused the boys. They found the erect umbrella rooted in the crook of the elbow funny.

Shoepics 199_edited

Children sporting colorful raincoats on the way to school brighten the gray streets on monsoon mornings.

Shoepics 200_edited

Shoepics 201_edited

And this flooding is the inevitable price we pay for the monsoon. The authorities just can’t seem to fix the city’s drainage system. Some day …

Shoepics 202_edited

Responses

  1. I especially love the kid whose raingear is color-coordinated with her/his bicycle. Based on my U.S. experience, I jumped to the conclusion that this bike rider is a girl, because it’s a rare boy who would be seen in that color (somewhere between rose and mauve?). Is this true in Kerala?

    • To my eyes, that color looks a bright shade of crimson. But as my former boss once said, all males are color blind. I don’t think a boy anywhere in the world would balk at that bike, but the one in front, the pink one — absolutely! I don’t think there’s a boy anywhere who’d be seen dead on a bicycle of that color. Even if a boy who wishes to experiment did pick such a bike, his parents wouldn’t buy it for him, saying that’s a girlie color. By the way, apart from the color, the slanting crossbar on the bike indicates that’s a girl’s bike, right?

      • You’re right. A lot of bikes, especially the off-road kind, seem to be unisex these days, but that looks like a girl’s model. The boy’s model almost certainly doesn’t come in that color!

        My father was color blind for red and green. As a kid I couldn’t figure out how he could tell the traffic lights apart. He pointed out that the red was always on top and the green was always on the bottom, and he could tell which one was lit up.


Leave a Reply

Categories

