Posted by: cochinblogger | June 14, 2014

Roadside Umbrella Sale

Shoepics 213_edited_2

What a splash they made on the road! I had to stop the auto when I saw these umbrellas. After taking the pics, I went up to take a closer look. The umbrellas looked well made and elegant, and I was tempted to buy a couple. I asked the lady under the umbrella where the umbrellas were made. Bombay, she said. And would she be here tomorrow as well? No, she replied, they’d go to some other spot in the city. Unable to postpone the decision to the morrow, I bought two umbrellas. The auto driver told me they were vendors from Bombay who converged on the city to sell umbrellas during the monsoons. They camped together for the night, and fanned out to different parts of the city and the near-by towns in separate groups.

The maid at home liked the umbrellas and said she would buy one when she returned with the boys from school later that day. I told her she’d better buy today itself, as they told me they would not be back tomorrow. The maid said all vendors would say that, to make you buy then and there. I hadn’t thought of it like that, but yes, was forced to admit the logic of what she said. However, the lady with the umbrellas was true to her word: I haven’t seen her since.

Shoepics 216_edited_2_cr

A couple of minor mysteries: is the man with the black umbrella taking a leak or is he opening the gate? And for the life of me I can’t explain the blue-colored leaves of the plantain trees.

Maybe the trees took a leaf out of the umbrellas’ book. 🙂

Responses

  1. These are not blue leaves; there is a house behind.
    I have no answer for the man’s mystery though. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

