Posted by: cochinblogger | July 18, 2009

Does the Word “Impending” Have a Negative Connotation?

I recently e-mailed a friend, congratulating him on his impending marriage. A few days later, when I spoke to him, he jocularly asked if my use of the word impending in the e-mail was deliberate. Baffled, I asked him to explain himself. It turned out he thought the word had a negative connotation, as in the standard phrase “impending doom.” I didn’t think he was right, but shot back that he should be grateful I didn’t ask which girl’s life he was planning to destroy!

I checked with Webster’s later, and found that he was wrong. Here’s the entry for impend:

1 a : to hover threateningly : MENACE b : to be about to occur *the impending Senate hearings*
2 archaic : to hang suspended

Entry “b” shows that my usage was correct, though if there are many people out there who think like my friend, it would be wiser to use a word such as forthcoming.

Powered by Zoundry Raven


Responses

  1. Dear Blogger, I was about to wish someone exactly same.. Thank god I found ur post. But the word does give a negative edge to the phras, since it has always been used to indicate negative things with or without consciousness.

    Thanks for your post!

  2. More often than not, the word is used with negative associations. “Pending” is therefore a better choice when referring to things like nuptials, promotions, childbirth, etc.


Leave a comment

Categories